Animal Collective Postponed May-June Shows After Its Members Were Tested Positive for COVID

Animal Collective

Animal Collective has canceled the remaining dates of their current tour in May and June due to the positive test results of two of its members. Spirit of the Beehive would be supported by the band. The tour dates have been canceled because of Avey Tare and Deakin testing positive for Covid 19. The news came after the band canceled three West Coast gigs after discovering that one unknown member of the traveling group had Covid. Animal Collective has been on the road in support of their new album, Time Skiffs.


Animal Collective has canceled its May-June tour dates.

The band was scheduled to make stops in Canada as part of the new leg of their tour, including shows in Vancouver, Calgary, and Toronto, among other locations. They were also scheduled to play throughout the Midwest, with dates added in Omaha, Des Moines, and Indianapolis, before heading east for a concert that included a night in New York for Central Park’s SummerStage series.

Animal Collective

The band said in a statement:

“Dave [Portner, alias Avey Tare] and Josh [Dibb, aka Deakin] (both vaccinated and boosted) were quite ill and are now unable to perform. Continuing to tour at this time would be detrimental to their health and might lead to longer-term problems. The remaining dates of our May-June tour will have to be canceled.”

The band also asked its followers to support Spirit of the Beehive, since they would suffer losses as a result of canceled gigs.

Animal Collective will go on tour in November.

The band will return to the road in November to headline concerts in the United Kingdom and Ireland. Tickets for the available performances are available via Ticketmaster.

Animal Collective

Tour Dates for Animal Collective in November 2022

  • Dolans – Limerick, Ireland – November 2nd
  • 3 November – National Concert Hall, Dublin, Ireland
  • SWX – Bristol, UK – November 6
  • Manchester, UK – Albert Hall – November 7
  • Saint Luke’s Church, Glasgow, UK, November 9

Time Skiffs is the next album by Animal Collective.

Avey Tare (David Portner), Panda Bear (Noah Lennox), Geologist (Brian Weitz), and Deakin are members of Animal Collective (Josh Dibb). Time Skiffs, the band’s eleventh studio album, was released on Domino on February 4th, this year. The album is the band’s first in six years, and it represents the return of band member Deakin, who missed the recording and touring for the band’s last album, Painting With Fire (2016). The album was previewed by the band through enigmatic photographs delivered as private messages to fans on Instagram, Reddit, and Discord. Before releasing the complete album, they issued four singles: Prester John, Walker, Strung with Everything, and We Go Back.